A Traveller’s Diary: Exploring Pompeii

I must admit that I am writing this post with a slight concern about possibly breaking the internet with the amount of photos I would like to share today. The ancient Roman city of Pompeii has truly brought out the photo maniac in me. After all, the UNESCO World Heritage Site located at the foot of Vesuvius is one of the most popular tourist sites in Italy for a reason. The eruption of Vesuvius in 79 AD has buried the town under a 4-6m layer of ash (together with Herculaneum and other towns in the area). Today, the city gradually unearthed since 1599, enables tourists to discover the topography of it, along with well-preserved individual items, which acquaint the visitors with the details of the Pompeiians’ lives. The amount of detailed paintings and frescoes, which have been discovered upon the walls of buildings have left me completely astonished (especially the fact that the walls have retained their color, suggesting that red interior must have been trendy at the time!). Although the state of the buildings of Pompeii isn’t comparable to those at Herculaneum, they still enable the tourists to discover the function of most buildings. Despite the unpleasant history behind Pompeii, it is definitely a fascinating place and a must-see for those setting off to Southern Italy. Enjoy the picture overload!

IMG_4437upd

IMG_4433upd

IMG_4465upd

IMG_4476upd

IMG_4568upd

IMG_4570upd

IMG_4445upd

IMG_4484upd

IMG_4497upd

IMG_4635upd

IMG_4543upd

IMG_4529upd

IMG_4548upd

IMG_4576upd

IMG_4581upd

IMG_4603upd

IMG_4613upd

IMG_4615upd

IMG_4623upd

IMG_4636upd

IMG_4672upd

IMG_4669upd

IMG_4724upd

IMG_4676upd

IMG_4706upd

IMG_4738upd

IMG_4751upd

IMG_4756upd

IMG_4778upd

IMG_4787upd

IMG_4805upd

IMG_4807upd

IMG_4790upd

IMG_4792upd

IMG_4798upd

IMG_4820upd

IMG_4832upd

IMG_4834upd

IMG_4864upd

IMG_4866upd

IMG_4837upd

IMG_4852upd

IMG_4854upd

IMG_4868upd

IMG_4878upd

IMG_4882upd

IMG_4906upd

IMG_4923upd

IMG_4934upd

IMG_4913upd

IMG_4813upd

 

12 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Beautiful photographs. Brought back some happy memories. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Bonjour

    The Tonal Theme really suits your pictures – the Italian stuff, particularly Sirmione, is fabulous – brought back happy memories of my daughters wedding in nearby Desenzano. I’m hoping that the 201 will improve the way l show my pictures – l keep trying out the new stuff but always go back to Able.

    Regards

    Dan

  3. Beautiful photos, and a beautiful blog! I was just wondering if you considered presenting your photos in the format of a photo gallery, I think it would showcase them better? Sorry about this unsolicited advice 😳

    • Thank you! I’ve been thinking about it, but since I’m fairly new to blogging I was a kind of afraid to experiment with a gallery since I prefer to be consistent in the look of my posts, but I will definitely have to try it soon – it would probably be more reader-friendly without the endless scrolling haha 🙂

      • You’re right about the consistency! But don’t be afraid to try out new things: I’ve been blogging since August last year and since then I’ve found that changes are worth a try. I felt uncomfortable posting a new type of material of a post with a different layout, but a funny thing, often the response by the readers was positive!

      • That’s good to know, thanks! I will try to take more risks in this case 🙂

  4. I really like your photos :). Especially this heading one, I love this blurring effect.

  5. Lovely! Your blog is perfect!

  6. Hey, I gave you a shout out on my blog. Stop by if you are interested: http://penultimatia.com/2014/04/27/thanks-for-the-mad-props/
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

